HomeSportsIPL 2023From Rohit Sharma to Amit Mishra, Players Who Took Hat-Tricks In IPL...

From Rohit Sharma to Amit Mishra, Players Who Took Hat-Tricks In IPL History

Hat-Tricks In IPL History: Despite the dominance of batsmen, sometimes bowlers also play match-winning roles in cricket. With the attacking pace and confusing spin, they showed their potential many times on the field. But besides all the stunts they perform on the ground, the moment of Hat-trick is the best one.

And why not? Hat-trick is the thing that can shift the momentum at any point of the game. It’s like a very painful wound for the opposition team that takes too much time to recover.

However, it’s not very common to see hat-trick. It comes at very rare times. In the 15 years of IPL history, from 2008 to 2022, we have only seen 21 Hat-tricks yet. Check out the list below.

21 Hat-Tricks In IPL History

Hat-Tricks In IPL History
via: Google

All of us know that the first season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) took place in 2008. In the very first season, the former Indian medium-fast bowler Lakshmipathy Balaji has taken the first hat trick in IPL history against Kings XI Punjab. At that time, he was on the side of the Chennai Super Kings.

Also Read: Top 5 IPL Teams With Most Wins In the Tournament, Check Now

5 days after that match, Indian spinner Amit Mishra revisualised the stunt against Deccan Chargers for Delhi Daredevils (DDD). Amit Mishra is the only bowler in the IPL history to take three hat-tricks.

Apart from him, cricket superstar Yuvraj Singh has also taken two hat-tricks in the IPL tournament. Other than them, there is one more name that will shock you. He is Indian captain Rohit Sharma who is known for his explosive batting skills. But in 2009, he took a hat trick against Mumbai Indians while playing for Deccan Chargers.

Also Read: What Are the Highest Team Scores In IPL History? Click Here to Check the Top 10 List

Check out the complete list of the hat tricks in IPL history here:

S.No Player Date/Year Against Hat-trick Wickets  Location
1.  Lakshmipathy Balaji (CSK) 10th May 2008 Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) 1. Irfan Pathan
2. Peeyush Chawla
3. VRV Singh
2. Amit Mishra (DDD) 15th May 2008 Deccan Chargers (DC) 1. Dwaraka Ravi Teja
2. Pragyan Ojha
3. RP Singh
3.  Makhaya Ntini (CSK) 18th May 2008 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 1. Saurav Ganguly
2. Debabrata Das
3. David Hussey
4.  Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) 1st May 2009 Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 1. Robin Uthappa
2. Jacques Kallis
3. Mark Boucher
5.  Rohit Sharma (DC) 6th May 2009 Mumbai Indians (MI) 1. Abhishek Nayar
2. Harbhajan Singh
3. JP Duminy
6.  Yuvraj Singh (KXIP) 17th May 2009 Deccan Chargers (DC) 1. Herschelle Gibbs
2. Andrew Symonds
3. Venugopal Rao
7.  Praveen Kumar (RCB) 18th March 2010 Rajasthan Royals (RR) 1. Damien Martyn
2. Sumit Narwal
3. Paras Dogra
8.  Amit Mishra (DC) 21st May 2011 Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) 1. Ryan McLaren
2. Mandeep Singh
3. Ryan Harris
9.  Ajit Chandila (RR) 13th May 2012 Pune Warriors (PW) 1. Jesse Rider
2. Saurav Ganguly
3. Robin Uthappa
10.  Sunil Narine (KKR) 16th April 2013 Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) 1. David Hussey
2. Azhar Mahmood
3. Gurkeerat Singh
11.  Amit Mishra (SRH) 17th April 2013 Pune Warriors (PW) 1. Bhuvaneshwar Kumar
2. Rahul Sharma
3. Ashok Dinda
12. Pravin Tambe (RR) 5th May 2014 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 1. Manish Pandey
2. Yusuf Pathan
3. Ryan ten Doeschate
13.  Shane Watson (RR) 8th May 2014 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) 1. Shikhar Dhawan
2. Moses Henriques
3. Karn Sharma
14.  Axar Patel (KXIP) 1st May 2016 Gujarat Lions (GL) 1. Dinesh Karthik
2. Dwayne Bravo
3. Ravindra Jadeja
15.  Samuel Badree (RCB) 14th April 2017 Mumbai Indians (MI) 1. Parthiv Patel
2. Mitchell McClenaghan
3. Rohit Sharma
16. Andrew Tye (GL) 14th April 2017 Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) 1. Ankit Sharma
2. Manoj Tiwary
3. Shardul Thakur
17.  Jaydev Unadkat (RPS) 6th May 2017 Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) 1. Bipul Sharma
2. Rashid Khan
3. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
18.  Sam Curran (KXIP) 1st April 2019 Delhi Capitals (DC) 1. Harshal Patel
2. Kagiso Rabada
3. Sandeep Lamichhane
19.  Shreyas Gopal (RR) 30th April 2019 Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) 1. Virat Kohli
2. AB de Villiers
3. Marcus Stoinis
20. Harshal Patel (RCB) 26th September 2021 Mumbai Indians (MI) 1. Hardik Pandya
2. Kieron Pollard
3. Rahul Chahar
21.  Yuzvendra Chahal (RR) 18th April 2022 Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) 1. Shreyas Iyer
2. Shivam Mavi
3. Pat Cummins


We hope you liked this list of hat tricks in IPL history. Stay tuned to Stackumbrella for information like this.

Also Read: Mr IPL Suresh Raina Announced Retirement From All Formats, Watch his Great Innings Here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular