Hockey India names 20-member junior women’s team for matches


On Wednesday Team hockey India titled as the Indian junior women’s hockey team for the forthcoming matches against competitor France that is scheduled to be held in Gorakhpur and Lucknow, commencing February 8.

The team is set up to play a series of four matches. the first two matches will take place at Padma Shri Mohammad Shahid synthetic hockey stadium situated in Lucknow on February 8-9.
On the other hand, the third match is scheduled to be played in Gorakhpur at Veer Bahadur Singh sports college on February 11.

Coach Baljeet Singh said, “The upcoming matches against the French Women’s National team will be helpful for our team in gaining match-fitness and experience different match situations,”,

“We will be up against a group of players who have played together for a considerably long time, and I feel our team’s combination for the matches is such that it will give all the players an opportunity to contribute with their efforts on the field,” he further added.

“Our players will get a much-needed exposure and this challenge will help us in developing these players for bigger challenges that the team is going to face in the future including the 8th Women’s Junior Asia Cup,” the Coach added.

Also Read: Sports: ICC urges more players to share information on corrupt practices

Following is the 20-member Junior Women’s Team:

Goalkeepers--Khushboo, Bichu Devi Kharibam
Defenders–Philicia Toppo, Salima Tete, Priyanka, Ishika Chaudhary, Gagandeep Kaur, Suman Devi Thoudam.
Midfielders–Mariana Kujur, Reet, Mumtaz Khan, Baljeet Kaur, Preeti, Mahima Choudhary,
Forwards--Lalremsiami, Prabhleen Kaur, Sharmila Devi,  Jiwan Kishori Toppo, Ajmina Kujur, Jyoti.