Kohli’s creates history in ICC Awards; becomes the first cricketer to win all three awards

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli flourishes in the ICC Awards 2018. He wins three renowned ICC awards – the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men’s Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year awards following his outstanding performance in 2018.

He creates history in the world of cricket by winning these prestigious awards!

In addition to these awards, not only Kohli becomes the first player to win these three major ICC awards together but also been named the captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

virat kohli
Via: zeenews.com

The right-hand batsman scored top notch 1,322 runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 Tests with 5 centuries during the calendar year while in 14 ODIs he scored 1202 runs at a spectacular average of 133.55 with six centuries.

Kohli on receiving the honor said: “It feels amazing. It’s a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the calendar year. I feel really grateful and very, very happy with the team doing well at the same time myself performing.

Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of as a cricketer because you understand that there are many players playing the game.

“To be rewarded in this manner from amongst all of them is obviously a very proud moment for me and something that gives you more motivation to keep repeating the same things because you have to keep the standard of cricket up and keep bringing inconsistent performances. From that point of view, these awards give you that extra motivation.”

Kohli came into limelight when he led India to victory at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup in Malaysia in 2008 and finished the year as he was the top-ranked batsman in Tests and ODIs.

In the year 2018, Kohli is the highest scorer in both forms of the game. He was one of only two batsmen who scored more than 1,000 runs in Tests and the only amongst three to do so in ODI cricket.

Unanimously, Kohli was the choice of the Voting Academy* for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy along with South Africa’s fast bowler Kagiso Rabada coming in second to him for both this award and the ICC Test Player of the Year award.

In the list of ICC ODI Player of the Year award, Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan was runner up.

In addition to this, Virat Kohli is also in ICC ODI Team of the Year which also includes  Rohit Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav, and Jaspreet Bumrah.

Also Read: Revealed! The meanings of 9 tattoos of Virat Kohli on Nat Geo

The team is as follows:

Johnny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India, Captain), Rohit Sharma (India), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (Wicketkeeper, England), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rehman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jaspreet Bumrah (India), and Kuldeep Yadav (India).

Excluding Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jaspreet Bumrah have been included in India’s ‘ICC Test Team of the Year-2018’.

The team includes:

Virat Kohli (India), Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Henry Nichols (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper, India), Jason Holder (West Indies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) ), Nathan Lyon (Australia), MO Abbas (Pakistan), Jaspreet Bumrah (India).

Also Read: Rishabh Pant has been announced: ICC Emerging Player of the Year

A wonderful serenity has taken possession of my entire soul, like these sweet mornings of spring which I enjoy with my whole heart.

Latest news

Are you planning to get away from the hustles of life and work? Want to spend some quality time...
Vacations are the best part of life which rejuvenates our soul and body. Working non-stop and taking all the...
India is land of diverse cultures and with so many unique places to visit but if you are an...
Waterfalls are an eternal beauty with a spectacular sight. The cascade of water flowing down from the mountains give...

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you