Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul back for Australia series

Ind vs Aus, Bumrah , Rahul

Ind Vs Aus 2019: Jasprit Bumrah and KL Rahul both are back for India when they take on Australia in the limited-overs format on the Indian soil, starting February 24.

The series includes two T20Is, which are scheduled in Bengaluru on February 24 and in Visakhapatnam on February 27, which will then be followed by five-match ODIs on March 2 in Hyderabad, March 5 in Nagpur, March 8 in Ranchi, March 10 in Mohali, and March 13 in Delhi.

Fast India pacer, Bumrah, who took 21 wickets at an average of 17 and strike-rate of 44.9 during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy on the Australia tour, was given rest from Australia and New Zealand ODI series due to his workload.

Also Read: 7 Reasons Why We Should Go Mad Over India’s Historic Test Win Against Australia

In the meantime, fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has his place in the squad only for the final three matches. Spinner Kuldeep Yadav is given rest from the T20I series with legspinner Mayank Markande replacing him.

Indian opener KL Rahul has been selected for the ODI team. After the suspension lift, in the first four-day game against England Lions, he was also part of India A, which was put in view of his inappropriate comments on a popular celebrity TV chat show, Koffee with Karan.

Wicketkeeper-batsman, Rishabh Pant has found a place in both the squads. With Dinesh Karthik not in competition to play the ODIs, Pant has sealed his position as a back-up to MS Dhoni.

Virat Kohli, who was given rest for the last two ODI and consecutive T20I series against New Zealand due to the workload, will lead the side.

In the absence of Kohli, opener Rohit Sharma was given the responsibility of stand-in captain.

For first two ODIs,India’s squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohamed Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, KL Rahul, Siddharth Kaul.

India’s team for rest three ODIs: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal.

India’s team for T20I series against Australia: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Sidharth Kaul, Mayank Markande, Vijay Shankar, Yuzvendra Chahal.