India registered victory in a last-ball thriller to seal Asia Cup 2018 title


    Asia Cup 2018 final: A calm, composed, and confident knocks from Ravindra Jadeja (33) and Bhuvneshwar Kumar (21) under pressure, India defeated Bangladesh in a nail-biting clash to seize the Asia Cup title for the second time in the row.

    India’s middle order was under the radar of questions for quite some time delivered in style, taking India to the finishing line on Friday at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. All the batsmen in the middle-order contributed with bat helping India beat Bangladesh by 3 wickets. Chasing a low-scoring target of 223 runs, India lost Shikhar Dhawan (15) and Ambati Rayudu (2) in quick succession after a decent start.

    Kedar Jadhav

    Also Read: This Man From Maharashtra Corrects MS Dhoni And Virat Kohli’s Bat

    After the wicket of Rohit Sharma, Karthik and Dhoni had a crucial 54-run partnership. But Bangladesh bowlers dismissed Dhoni and Karthik at peak intervals putting India right back under pressure. Ravindra Jadeja and Bhuvneshwar Kumar then again had a brilliant 45-run partnership for the seventh wicket taking India close to the target.

    Kedar Jadhav, who went back to the dressing room after suffering from a hamstring injury, returned in the second last over along with Kuldeep Yadav taking India across the ending line on the final ball of the match.

    Also Read: ICC Announces Plan For World Test Championship And 13-ODI Team League

    India vs Bangladesh asia cup 2018

    It was Mustafizur Rahman and Rubel Hossain for Bangladesh who took two wickets each while Nazmul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, and Mahmudullah shared one wicket each.

    Also Read: What A Gift Hardik Pandya Received From This Football Team

    Liton Das, Bangladesh

    Liton Das of Bangladesh was adjudged “Man of the Match” for his spectacular 121 runs and Shikhar Dhawan was announced the “Man of the Series” of Asia Cup 2018.

    Shikhar Dhawan

    This is the seventh time when India has won the Asia Cup title, also it was the 700th ODI win for the Indian team.