The company already delayed the implementation of the new policy by three months. Since then, the company is explaining the privacy policies to the users yet many misconceptions still exist. Although there must be the practicality of WhatsApp. The company recently issued a note that correctly characterizes its plan.
Let us have a look at what the company states about the after-effects of the update of the policies:-
Whatsapp may not immediately delete the account of users but can restrict access
Whatsapp is trying to give enough time to the users to analyze changes at their own pace and convenience. The company has extended the operative date to 15th May. Although if the users do not accept the policies, the company will not delete their account. However, the app may not be fully functional until the policies are accepted.
Users may receive calls and notifications, but won’t be allowed to read or send messages
The company stated that the users will be allowed to receive calls and notifications for a specific period but won’t be able to read or send messages through the app.
Deleted Accounts will not be recovered
According to the company, the deletion of the users’ accounts will be permanent. Thus, it cannot be undone.
Users may lose their chat history
No longer access to group chats
Entire Whatsapp Backup May Be Deleted
The users may face the risk of losing their entire WhatsApp data. The app has warned the users that non-acceptance of the privacy policies of the app may result in losing the entire WhatsApp backup. Although, the users are free to take backups of their accounts before May 15.
The Chat History can be exported before 15th May
The users can easily download the report of their account and also export their chats before the implementation of updated privacy policies.